*Selected* Products

Contact Us

Educational Music Service
1 Commercial Drive, Suite D2
Florida, NY 10921

Phone: 845-469-5790
Phone Hours: 10am to 1pm and 2pm to 5pm Eastern, Monday through Friday

Fax: 845-469-5817

Don's Search Tips Video
Don Boyer's Search Tips Video
(Click the picture to View)

Recent Kudos
"EMS has been exceptional
at finding
the Nieweg et al.
corrected editions for our orchestra."

Credit Card Processing

Secure Order Form

  Home > Orchestra >

IVES, Charles Edward (1874-1954) - Symphony No. 4 (New Critical Edition) (Brodhead). ASSOCIATED MUSIC PUBLISHERS - large score
IVES, Charles Edward (1874-1954) - Symphony No.  4 (New Critical Edition) (Brodhead). ASSOCIATED MUSIC PUBLISHERS - large score
Prices shown are not guaranteed.  If you need a firm price quote, please use the check box at checkout to request one.
List Price: $75.00

Availability: Usually ships in 1-2 weeks, or give a specific Rush Delivery Date at Checkout.
Product Code: EMS354161

Other Ref. # / Component / Instrumentation / Duration
HAL50602337 / large score / orch

Charles Ives Society Performance Edition based on the Critical Edition (2011) realized and edited by Thomas M. Brodhead.  This new performance score seeks to address every quantifiable performance problem confronting conductors and performers of the Ives Fourth Symphony. Here, for the first time, difficulties that have bedeviled interpreters of the score in the past are addressed, and the new issues unearthed in the recently published Critical Edition score are harnessed and accounted for.

From the Editor: "AMP/Hal Leonard have published my Critical Edition Performance Score to the Ives Fourth Symphony. This score matches the newly engraved set of rental parts from AMP. It's in soft cover, and at the attractive price of $75.

This edition was informed with real-world feedback I received over a five year period. From 2012-17, I spent a week each with twelve different orchestras across North America and Europe that were preparing for a weekend performance of the edition, which was rental-only at time. This allowed me to make incremental fixes, additions, and clarifications to the score and all of the parts.

I solicited feedback from conductors, musicians, orchestra librarians (!), and even stage hands. DSO Principal Librarian Robert Stiles had the very helpful suggestion of adding a checklist for orchestra librarians to the front matter of the edition, and he and I brainstormed on what the initial listing should be (it was augmented with feedback from subsequent librarians who faced different challenges with the needs of their music directors).

I hope this will be a welcome addition to your orchestra libraries."

ISBN: 9781540085054
UPC: 840126908947
Publisher Code: ED8261-P
Width: 12.0"
Length: 16.0"
232 pages